First Time For Foreigner

In 2012, Foreigner played at Wolf Lake on August 17th and, like Styx, they were incredible! And, like Styx, every single song they played was a very familiar.

Some of those songs include: “Cold As Ice,” “Hot Blooded,” “I’ve Been Waiting For a Girl Like You,” “Feels Like the First Time,” “Say You Will,” “I Want To Know What Love Is,” “Urgent,” ”Juke Box Hero,” “Dirty White Boy,” “Double Vision,” “Head Games” and “Blue Morning, Blue Day.”

According to Foreigneronline.com, this super group has had ten multi-platinum albums and sixteen top 30 hits. Foreigner currently consists of; Mick Jones, founder, songwriter, producer and guitarist; Kelly Hansen, lead singer, although not the original, you would not know it; Tom Gimbel, rhythm guitar, keyboard, saxophone and flute; Jeff Pilson, bassist and original Dokken member; and Michael Bluestein, keyboardist and backing vocals; and Brian Tichy on drums.

Tichy played a notable solo. It was long and brilliant. At some point he even did an incredibly impressive juggling-like trick with the drum sticks, throwing them ridiculously high in the air, like nothing I have ever seen before. He showcased his talent very well. It solicited a huge round of applause as the whole crowd was in awe.

I have always loved the song “Feels Like the First Time,” and to hear it live was an unforgettable experience. The title is appropriate because it prompts a feeling that you are hearing rock-and-roll music for the first time.

When I hear it on the radio, and especially when I watch it live, it just makes me feel happy, youthful, and powerful. There is a feeling of elation that almost brings a tear to my eye. I can feel what it does for my mind, body and spirit, and I like it a lot.

I’m not a religious man, but it feels like a religious experience to me, and I believe it is as close as one can get.

The song makes me feel like the first time I breathed, smiled, laughed, loved and cried tears of joy.

The level of talent that these musicians posses is hard to believe, and rarely equaled in music or any other activity a human can do. They are so obviously passionate about their music. Seeing them perform is seeing somebody do something that they absolutely LOVE to do.

It makes you realize the uniqueness of music and why it exists. It serves a great purpose. What just the right song can do for the human spirit is remarkable. It generates an unequaled energy that mimics how good love can be and that makes life worth living.

Here is “Feels Like the First Time”

<a href=”http://

” title=”Feels Like the First Time”>

Leave a Reply

